Synapse - Art Science Collaborations
Home Individuals Interests Projects/Events/Publications Organisations Gallery Discuss Contact
Sort by Science OrganisationsArts OrganisationsAll Region
All A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Australian National University, Canberra

The Australian National University was founded by the Australian Government in 1946 as Australia's only completely research-oriented university.

In 1960 the University merged with Canberra University College, and began offering both undergraduate and graduate education. More recently, in 1992, the University and the Institute of The Arts amalgamated, widening the University's education to encompass creative arts and music.

The Australian National University offers graduate and undergraduate courses in a range of disciplines ranging from Arts, to Law and Mathematics, to Science and Women's Studies.

Fundamental to the distinctive character of the University has been the continuity of the block funding to the Institute of Advanced Studies, vital for the investment in long-term research so critical for continued academic distinction. Equally important to the character of the ANU has been the growth of the undergraduate student body and the recruitment of high quality research and teaching staff into The Faculties.

Department: John Curtin School of Medical Research

The John Curtin School - Australia’s national medical research institute - is part of The Australian National University. It was created in 1948 as a result of the vision of Australian Nobel Laureate Howard Florey and Prime Minister John Curtin.Within 50 years its scientists have made major discoveries and contributions to world health and won two of Australia's Nobel Prizes.Fundamental discoveries have included the Nobel Prize-winning elucidation of mechanisms of transmission of signals in the nervous system (Sir John Eccles, 1963), and the discovery of the role of the major histocompatibility complex for which Peter Doherty and Rolf Zinkernagel shared the 1996 Nobel Prize for Medicine.Many other international awards have been won by ANU scientists from the John Curtin School. Professor Frank Fenner in particular has been honoured by the award of the Japan Prize (1988), the Copley Medal of the Royal Society (1995), the Albert Einstein Award (2000) and the Prime Minister's Science Prize (2002).



Disclaimer Privacy Policy